Trigg runners take first at Murray Invitational
by Scott Brown, Sports Editor Email Scott
Sep 28, 2005 | 0 0 comments | 3 3 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Trigg County won their first invitational race of the 2005 season Saturday at the Murray Invitational.

The Wildcats placed four runners in the top nine to edge Ballard Memorial by 12 points.

Zack Wright was Trigg’s top runner with a fifth place finish in 22:02, followed by Zach Storms in sixth place in 22:47.

Michael Polenac was eighth with a time of 23:33, and Jay Jolly was ninth in 23:36. Chase Thomas finished 25th (27:14), and Grady Cofield was 32nd in 28:45 to round out Trigg’s scoring.

Hopkinsville’s Vincent Hawkins won the race with a time of 21:05.

Zeke Wright and Romaine Cunningham finished first and second in the middle school race, while Javen Jones was 13th.

On the girls’ side, Taylor Bryant led the Lady Wildcat runners with a 13th place finish in 32:43, followed by Leight Groves in 17th (35:01), and Melissa Taylor in 18th (35:02).

Heather Martin of Dawson Springs won the race in 25:43.

In the middle school race, Macey King finished in seventh place in 14:31, followed by DiAsia Acree in 12th in 15:16 and Kristen Waldrop in 13th place in 15:42.

Kanisha Frye came across the line in 17:36 for 17th place, while Sierra Bush was 18th in 17:48.

Trigg County returns to action Thursday afternoon in hosting the annual Trigg County Ham Run at Lake Barkley Airport.
Click for Cadiz, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis