Runners take 17th at Meet of Champions
by Scott Brown, Sports Editor Email Scott
Nov 01, 2004 | 0 0 comments | 2 2 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Trigg County closed out their regular season cross country season Saturday at the gargantuan Meet of Champions at Masterston Station Park in Lexington.

In the boys’ Class A race, Trigg County finished 17th out of 20 teams with 393 points.

Zack Wright was Trigg County’s top runner in 28th place with a time of 19:02.

Corey Harrison followed him across the line in 45th place in 19:30 over the 3.1-mile course.

Other finishers for Trigg County were A.J. Bridges, 93rd in 21:04; Adam Williams, 130th in 22:46; Landen Burcham, 159th in 25:03; and Chase Thomas 172nd in 27:17.

St. Henry’s Greg Robinson won the race in a time of 16:57 and was one of four Crusader runners in the first eight places to help the school to a first place finish.

In the girls’ varsity race, Trigg County had two runners cross the finish line, led by Leigh Whitney Groves in 98th place in 28:28.

Melissa Taylor was 114th in a time of 31:22.

Molly Schlarman of Covington Holy Cross won the race in a time of 20:51.

In the middle school boys’ race, Zeke Wright finished in 49th place with a time of 15:28.

He was followed by Jay Jolly in 310th place with a time of 19:19; Nathan Yielding, 330th in 20:04; and Tyler Burnam, 368th in 21:18.

Delara Davis of Conway Middle School won the race in 13:43.

In the girls’ middle school race, Skylynn Fortner was Trigg County’s top runner with a 262nd finish in a time of 21:26, followed by Scottie Fortner, 305th in a time of 23:52; and Kanisha Frye, 314th in 25:26.

Woodford County middle schooler Anna Bostrom won the race in 15:20.

Trigg County took part in their final regular season race, the Christian County Invitational Oct. 23 in Hopkinsville.

Greenwood’s Michael Eaton won in a time of 15:52 over the 3.1-mile course, more than a minute faster than the second place runner from Paducah Tilghman.

Adam Williams was Trigg County’s top finisher in 133rd place with a time of 21:44, followed by Landen Burcham, 167th in 23:12; Chase Thomas, 171st in 23:29; and A.J. Bridges was 192nd in 35:31.

Zack Wright did not run in the meet because of blisters on his feet.

Zeke Wright finished 11th in the boys’ middle school race in a time of 16:11 over the 1.8-mile course.

Jay Jolly was 59th in 19:00, followed by Nathan Yielding in 78th with a time of 19:59; and Tyler Burnam who was 80th in 20:05.

On the girls’ side, Trigg County finished 19th in the 19 team field with 540 points.

Daviess County beat Greenwood by ten points to take the team trophy.

Leigh Whitney Groves was Trigg County’s top runner in 113th place with a time of 28:49.

Melissa Taylor was 119th in 30:22, followed by Taylor Bryant, 123rd in 31:53; Skylynn Fortner, 125th in 32:10; Scottie Fortner, 129th in 33:37; and Kanisha Frye, 130th in 33:51.

Caldwell County’s Miranda Meeks won the girls’ race with a time of 19:53 on the 3.1-mile course, edging Daviess County’s Taylor Miller by four seconds.
Click for Cadiz, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis