Primary election sees 38 percent turnout
by Franklin Clark, Reporter --
May 19, 2010 | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A primary election that was held on Tuesday saw just under 39 percent voter turnout in Trigg County, said Trigg County Clerk Wanda Thomas.

Of the 10,012 registered voters in the county, 3,863 voted for their favorite candidates across the 14 voter precincts. Thomas had earlier predicted a voter turnout of around 32 percent.

Trigg County Attorney H.B. Quinn has run unopposed for the position since 1985, but on Tuesday he lost by 170 votes to challenger Randall Braboy, who will run unopposed in the general election in November.

Quinn said that he doesn’t know what he will do come November, although he suggested he might go back to being an attorney. However, until then, he will continue to perform the duties of his office, he added.

“I’m going to keep doing what I need to do,” Quinn. “I’m going to keep working cases, I’m going to keep working in child support and I’ll keep advising the county until January.”

Braboy said he was to some extent surprised at his victory, and stated that while he knows a fresh face will benefit the county, he will need some time to think about what he will do differently.

“We ran like we were 50 votes behind,” Braboy quipped.

Before the results came in, Thomas congratulated the candidates in attendance for “stepping up” to run for public office.

“It’s not an easy job, as any candidate will know,” Thomas said.

Trigg County Sheriff Randy Clark beat his opponent Keith Lancaster by 399 votes, and will run against Ray Burnam, who beat his opponent Gordon Mitchell by 475 votes, in the November election.

Clark said he was pleased by the election results, and said he’ll “call a win a win.”

Richard Nelson beat Ronnie Sadler and Terry Vickery in the Republican Fifth District Magistrate race and Tom Ledford beat George Humphries, Greg Major and James Kyler in the Democratic Fifth Democratic Magistrate race.

In the Democratic First District Magistrate race, Mike Wright beat current magistrate Shannon Knight by 189 votes. In the Democratic Seventh District Magistrate race, current magistrate Donnie Tyler beat Mike Lane by 87 votes. Both will run unopposed in the November election.

Michael Hyde beat his opponent Denise Brashears by 19 votes in the Republican Fourth District Magistrate race, and he will run against Jeff Broadbent, who beat Marc Terrell, Larry Rogers, Danny Stewart and Garrett Hayes in the Democratic Fourth District Magistrate Race.

More detailed local and state primary election results are available at the Kentucky Election Commission’s website at
Click for Cadiz, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis