Perry among 95 at Circuit Court Clerks Summer College
by Staff Report -- Email News
Jul 07, 2010 | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
FRANKFORT – Trigg County Circuit Court Clerk Pam Perry was one of 95 circuit court clerks who participated in the 2010 Circuit Court Clerks Summer College held June 15–17 in Lexington.

The Administrative Office of the Courts hosted the college, which offered nine hours of continuing education credit. The theme for the college was A Day in the Life of a Clerk.

“The Circuit Clerks College is an invaluable tool that fills a key educational gap,” said Jefferson County Circuit Court Clerk David L. Nicholson, president of the Kentucky Association of Circuit Court Clerks. “The college keeps circuit court clerks across the state updated on changes in statutes, regulations and rules as they relate to our core business and allows for important discussion regarding emerging trends in the courts.”

The circuit clerks elected Nicholson as KACCC president during the college. Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr. addressed the circuit court clerks during the college. AOC Director Laurie K. Dudgeon and the AOC budget director provided a budget overview.

The college included sessions on foreign documents, the KY VINE service, Drug Court participant transfers between jurisdictions, records retention, court exhibits, and clerk processes for involuntary commitments through Casey’s Law.

The clerks also received updates on legislation from the 2010 Kentucky General Assembly session and the Trust For Life program. Trust For Life is sponsored by the KACCC to promote organ and tissue donation through driver licensing and the computer-based Kentucky Organ Donor registry.

In addition to Nicholson, the circuit clerks elected these clerks as KACCC officers during the college: Stephanie King-Logsdon of McLean County, first vice president; Loretta Crady of Hardin County, second vice president; Krissie Coe Fields of Barren County, secretary; and Jim Barker of Rowan County, treasurer. Mason County Circuit Court Clerk Kirk Tolle is past president.

The AOC Division of Judicial Branch Education provides training conferences for circuit court clerks, who are responsible for managing the records of Kentucky’s circuit and district courts. Circuit court clerks are constitutionally elected officials from all 120 Kentucky counties who serve a six-year term.

The AOC is the operational arm of the Kentucky Court of Justice and supports the activities of approximately 3,400 court system employees and 403 elected justices, judges and circuit court clerks. The AOC also executes the Judicial Branch budget.

Information for this staff report was submitted by Jamie Ball, public information specialist for the Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts.
Click for Cadiz, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis